Welcome Guest Login or Signup LIVE CHAT | IM LIST | BOOKMARK US | HELP
 
SISTER SITES:   CRAFTERCIRCLE.COM | ARTCALENDAR.COM  
MENU:    
 

Question about art-exchange.com

jbradley_75
By: jbradley
Mood: other
Date: 01/14/2008 17:11:55
Music: None


I am wondering the track record from any artists out there who may have worked with www.art-exchange.com. I was contacted by them. Is this like other "vanity" sites that solicit artists?


Thanks, jbradley







VIEWING 1 - 5 OUT OF 5 COMMENTS



From: jbradley
03/11/2008 16:20:11

Hi Heather Rippert,


Thanks for the advice. I heard from others including one that had lost several thousands of dollars with them. Yes, I am reading Jack White's books. I appreciate his honest approach to the business of art. I'll be in touch. Congrats on your show. jbradley



From: Rippert
03/09/2008 16:01:17
Say NO NO NO IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!  They are total scammers, I had a nightmare experience with them last year.  I hear the same story over and over again with other artists.  Just say NO!!!!!  They are very slippery and sleezy, and they pray on innocent artists who want to get out there.  Finda another avenue.  Read Jack White's art books www.senkarik.com and click on books and begin with The Mystery of Making It.  Any other question feel free to contact me.  Heather Rippert


From: Analagous
01/24/2008 09:47:24
There was a comment about art exchange in the forums some time ago, because someone else had asked the same question  and I recall the answer  was to stay away from them.  


From: jbradley
01/15/2008 17:55:52
I looked at the "member agreement" for artists. It states a 10% fee for anything that sells. It also says something else about an agreed upon fee between them and each artist. I imagine it depends on how many works you submit to them, for how long etc. The rep is calling me back on Thursday so I'll find out. They advertise how much they market the artist's work, but how would an artist know if their work actually was part of a show and promoted or just included on their hand-out DVD. I've seen these types of offers that appear to be a great deal for the artist until you read the fine print. Non of the designers, retailers etc. pay any fees to this site. It sounds like everything comes out of the artists. I am curious enough to ask them to send me something in writing to read. I'm also going to print out that artists agreement and read it again. I'll let you know. jbradley


01/15/2008 14:44:18
I was curious about your question so I checked out the site. It's huge. I wonder where they get their financing. Did you figure it out? Alison








*** Art Calendar Community ***